How to turn a JWT App into Oauth

Description
I have a JWT app that is working great inside my domain. It connects Zoom attendance data with the Google Apps Script Sheets API. However, I am somewhat new to coding and unsure how to get it so that other users outside the domain can use the same functions. My understanding is that I need to use Oauth rather than JWT.

I have seen the Zoom documentation for Oauth. But I am lost as to how to really implement, especially from the Google Apps Script side. Are there beginner instructions of how Oauth can be set up?

Thanks!

Hey @lgangler,

Thank you for reaching out to the Zoom Developer Forum. If you wanted to make your app available for other users, outside of your account, then an OAuth App is a perfect choice. Once you publish an OAuth app to the marketplace, it can be used by a user outside of your account that authorizes it.

While there isn’t a way to turn a JWT App into an OAuth app, you can use much of your logic, changing the endpoints to reflect the current user instead of account-level scopes.

Google has a toolkit for accessing OAuth services that I’ve linked below. You can potentially use this to authorize with Zoom:

I hope that helps! Let me know if you have any questions.

Thanks,
Max

Thanks @MaxM! I appreciate the info. Right now I am having trouble figuring out paste the //https://zoom.us/oauth/authorize…

Here’s my code:

function getZoomService() {
  // Create a new service with the given name. The name will be used when
  // persisting the authorized token, so ensure it is unique within the
  // scope of the property store.
  return OAuth2.createService('zoom')

// Set the endpoint URLs, which are the same for all Google services.
      .setAuthorizationBaseUrl('https://accounts.google.com/o/oauth2/auth')
      .setTokenUrl('https://accounts.google.com/o/oauth2/token')

// Set the client ID and secret, from the Google Developers Console.
      .setClientId('REDACTED')