Syntax to join Zoom meeting, as an iOS Configurator 2 Web Clip

Context: Trying to create one-touch Join Zoom Meeting icons for iPads that will be provided to isolated tech-challenged seniors to help them make it through the current COVID crisis.

Using Apple Configurator 2 I can create custom “Web Clip” icons that launch a particular Zoom meeting via the Safari browser. But the user then has to allow Safari to open Zoom, and then has to select Computer Audio. I would far prefer that the icons be truly one touch.

Webclip icons can launch many other apps and pass parameters using a URI (like a URL). I am hoping that I can pass in the meeting ID and password similarly to Zoom. And ideally I would also like to force computer audio so that the user does not have to choose that each time.

Has anybody done that?

I am a retired developer of embedded software. My available development platform is Xcode in Mac OS Catalina. I can write something using the Zoom SDK if I have to. But my learning curve would really slow things down, and I want to get these iPads set up and in the hands of users as soon as I can. The webclip route should be much more efficient IF it is possible to launch Zoom with a URI.

Hi @aquirt,

Thanks for the post and thanks for sharing the idea. Based on Apple’s doc, it seems like the web clip URL created in Apple Configurator 2 is pre-defined so there is not too much flexibility here.

If you would like to trigger the Zoom client, you could consider forming an URL by following the URL scheme guide:https://marketplace.zoom.us/docs/guides/guides/client-url-schemes. However, there are many roadblocks by using this way, such as the one you are mentioning. The feature “Using URL/deep links to launch applications” has changed a lot for different browsers as well.