App for creating meetings for other users

I am a developer and I have few organizations clients that contacted me recently with request to develop an app for them that will have a feature were users of the app will “click a button and it will automatically create a zoom meeting between my client (the organization) and the user”.

My question is what is the best way to achieve something like that.

I managed to create meetings through the OAUTH api, but as far as I can see it is only possible for my own account, or for users in my account. There is also the issue of the rate limit of 100/day. Is this limit higher for paid accounts?

Or should I just ask them to create the app in their own account, and give me the client+secret so that I can create the meeting in their behalf?

Hey @hershkoy

Thanks for posting on the Zoom Devforum! I am still learning, but I will try my best to help answer your question. :slightly_smiling_face:

Checkout this related thread that may have the answer you are looking for:

If this thread did not help, please let us know by replying back here and someone from the Developer Relations team will get back to you shortly.

Thanks,
DeveloperBot

If I use OATH app and publish it, is the rate limit on the app or on the user who is using the app?
So if I have 2 users each doing 60 create meetings a day, will I reach the rate limit of 100 or not?

Hi @hershkoy,

Good question. To clarify, OAuth would be the supported way to handle this. If you publish an OAuth App on our Marketplace, your end users will be able to install it and authorize you to make requests to create meetings on their behalves.

The rate limit of 100 meetings per day is applied on a user-level, so each user that installs your app would be able to create or update 100 meetings per day. If you had 6 users who were using your service, they’d be able to create/update 600 meetings in total (100 each).

Let me know if this helps to clarify!

Best,
Will

1 Like