How to choose JWT or OAuth authentication for webinar

Description

Hi, I am new to the zoom integration, and after going through the document of authentication methods I am still confused. So our company is trying to integrate zoom webinar to our webapp using SDK and zoom api, and the use case will be allowing some users to create a webinar and other users can join the webinar on our website. So in this case, which authentication method I should use. Or it does not matter? I am trying to use jwt, and seems like it is working.

Also, speak of webinar, another related question is whether the host can use sdk or api to start the webinar on our platform? Or they have to use the start_url (I did some research and noticed someone mentioned this), which means the host cannot use our webapp to start the webinar, not like attendees joining the webinar/meeting.

Thanks so much, and sorry for the messed up question. Hope this makes sense.

Best,
Harrison

1 Like

Hey @webinar, thanks for posting and using Zoom!

Are the users who are creating the Webinar apart of your Zoom account, or are they external Zoom users? If the hosts of the webinars are all on your Zoom account, then you can use JWT.

OAuth is for making actions (like creating webinars) on behalf of users outside your Zoom account.

The Web SDK also uses JWT to generate a the meeting / webinar signature.

Currently starting a webinar via the Web SDK is not supported. To start the webinar, have the host navigate to the start_url.

Let me know if that answers your questions, or if you have additional questions. :slight_smile:

Thanks,
Tommy

Thanks so much Tommy! I have been searching these for a long time. And eventually I guess asking a question here is a good idea. Maybe I missed some part of the document. Sorry for the stupid question.