Is oauth token user specific?

Hi, I’m new to this.
I would like to integrate zoom in my app. I learnt that there is only one token if I go with JWT app. What about the oauth?

1. Is the access token generated by oauth user specific?
    ie . with that token will i be able to create meetings for that particular user only.
  2. Does calling the "user create " api, be possible with the oauth access token.

Hi @chriztophermoriarity ,

Happy to help!

OAuth tokens are not necessarily user specific, but they can be because of how they’re generated. They have a shorter lifespan of 1 hour so after that time, a new on is needed. However you can generate a Refresh Token which “allows an application to obtain a new access token without prompting the user”. Additionally, you can set the permission scopes of that authorized user for what they can do with the Zoom APIs.

Yes, you can. You can set which APIs a user has access to with OAuth scoping (linked above).

Best,
Gianni

Thanks a lot!!

I would also like your advice on a scenario.
My objective is that I want to get the details of the participants of a live meeting from where I have to find them in my database.
From what I have learnt so far from the documentation, I need an oauth app that the host/user need to integrate in his live zoom meeting.
In order to get the details of participants of that live meeting,
1.does the host need to have a business plan ?
2. Should I have the business plan for creating the oauth app?
Also should I go for user managed app or account-level app . Which suites best for my objective?

Thanks in advance

Hey @chriztophermoriarity,

I’m happy to help out here!

Yes, the host would need a business plan in order to use our Dashboard APIs which provide information about live meetings.

Yes, that would allow you to develop the application and meet the prerequisites for the Dashboard APIs.