Python code calling oauth but not reaching my redirect-uri

Hello all.
I’m new to trying to use oauth in my python code and web-app, (I’ve been using jwt till now), and despite following the tutorials supposedly to-the-letter, I’m obviously doing something wrong.

My setup is as follows:
I’ve defined and added the oauth app in the market place, and defined the redirect URL to the relevant flask-app on my site’s backend.
Clicking “add” works; I see the request in my site’s logs, and I get a response with a valid token.

So far so good.

However, I tried using this in my python code, by creating the authentication-request link -

def make_authorization_url():
    params = {"client_id": CLIENT_ID,
              "response_type": "code",
              "redirect_uri": REDIRECT_URI}
    enc_params = urllib.parse.urlencode(params)
    url = f"https://zoom.us/oauth/authorize?{enc_params}"
    return url

and then using a simple requests.get(make_authorization_url()) for parsing and aquiring the token, so that I can potentially then make api requests.

But it’s not working, and looking at my code’s logs and the web-app’s logs it seems like there are 2 things going wrong in parallel:

1. The authentication-url is returning a sign-in page instead of the expected token.
  2. I don’t even see any http message being logged on my site.

So it seems like the authentication-url isn’t reaching the redirect stage, because it’s not actually making a request, because it’s getting stuck on a sign-in page!

What am I missing? What am I doing wrong?
(This might be a super simple mistake on my behalf; as mentioned - I’m really new to all this).

@shlomi.fenster ,

This is python right?
For Server to Server OAuth, I’m using something like this.
If you are using other OAuth flow, let me know, I’ll share a different solution.

import requests
import base64
import os
from dotenv import load_dotenv