Request Meeting on API Security

Hello,

I am trying to use the Zoom APIs to pass registrations from my form to Zoom. I am concerned about the security of using the API. From what I understand from the documentation, the oauth token is written in plain text. Thus, if someone views the source code on my webpage, they would be able to view the oauth token written in plain text. If they can view the oauth token, they can use that token and the rest of the API documentation to write an API that will delete a meeting or do other things on my account that they are not authorized to do.

I’m not an expert in APIs and Oauth security. I’m trying to understand how to complete these registrations in a secure way. Could we schedule a short meeting to help me understand how these APIs are secure?

Hi @mfoster, scheduling a meeting may be difficult on our end, but we’re happy to help here. Don’t worry about not being an expert - these topics can be (are) confusing, and that’s why we’re here.

When using OAuth, you are authorizing an individual user to access their information on the client by communicating your Client ID and Client Secret credentials from server-to-server. These credentials must be stored as server-side secret variables, and should never be exposed to a user. Without these credentials, that user only has permission to take actions on their own account. Additionally, OAuth apps exclusively allow users to take actions which you (and Zoom) have granted permission through the app’s Scopes.

For an example of how to store server-side client credentials, check out our Sample OAuth Node.js app, which uses a config.js file imported into index.js, and requests an individual user’s info using /users/me.

Let us know if and how we can clarify!

Michael,

For the scenario I outlined, registering customers for webinars, would it be best to use Oauth or JWT?