Start_url expired but still works?

Description
I am trying to automate the task of creating events and using Zapier to do so. I am making a custom call to the Zoom API that allows for the creation of a meeting, and the start URL is emailed to the host.

I read that start_url has an expiry of 2 hours from when it is generated (when the create meeting call is made), however, I have tried to click the link as host after 2 hours and it still works. Confused as to how.

A user should be able to create an event a month in advance and I read that with custom users and custom links the expiry date is 90 days. Is this the approach I will have to use, but why does my start_url link still work when it was generated over 2 hours ago.

Hey @bhavik.narang99

Thanks for posting on the Zoom Devforum! I am still learning, but I will try my best to help answer your question. :slightly_smiling_face:

Checkout this related thread that may have the answer you are looking for:

If this thread did not help, please let us know by replying back here and someone from the Developer Relations team will get back to you shortly.

Thanks,
DeveloperBot

The thread here is similar but I would just like to know if me being able to still use the start_url after expiration was a one off or something?

Hey @bhavik.narang99,

Did you use the same start_url that was returned by the Create Meeting API call, or did you do a GET request to the Meetings endpoint to retrieve the start_url? If it’s the latter, a refreshed URL would be returned.

However, if it’s the first, can you provide the URL?

Thanks!
Will

It would not be the latter.