Zoom API Endpoints to get Participant's Camera On/Off Information

Hi Everyone

I’m very new to the Zoom API, and I want to create something that should be simple, but I can’t find the relevant information in the zoom API endpoints.

Essentially, I want to see how long, as part of a whole meeting, a participant had their camera on or off. That’s it. If a meeting took 60 minutes, and a user had their cam open for 45 mins, I want to get 75%.

For that, I need to know at least if a participant’s camera was on or off, and/or for how long (in minutes if possible). A simple boolean (true/false) would not be enough for that (and I couldn’t even find a suitable endpoint for that).

It seems like a simple enough thing to retrieve, since there’s a lot of user information available, but I couldn’t find relevant responses in any of the API endpoints.

Could anyone help, point me to a relevant API endpoint?

Thank you for posting in the Zoom Developer Forum ! Currently, there is no User’s Camera Status Updated API or Webhook event. However, we do have participant joins and or is admitted to meeting events you can consider. See the below forum post for more details:

Additionally, based on your use case, it seems Webbooks would be more aligned with what you are looking to achieve. The links below provides a overview of the available Zoom meeting Webhooks and how to get started with Webhooks. Take a look and let us know if you have any questions or comments:

Zoom API Events - Meeting

https://marketplace.zoom.us/docs/api-reference/zoom-api/events/#tag/meeting

Using webhooks

https://marketplace.zoom.us/docs/api-reference/webhook-reference/

If this above does not work, I’d recommend submitting your use case as a feature request. Here is the link where you can submit feedback : Sending feedback to Zoom - Zoom Support