Closing app does not properly leave the meeting

Description/Error
After joining a zoom meeting through the web sdk client, closing the app by closing the tab/window or refreshing the page doesn’t properly remove the user from the zoom meeting. On other clients, this user will continue to appear on the participants list and a frozen video will show for the user’s video stream.

Expected behavior is observed by clicking on the “leave meeting” option. Otherwise, it is unclear if the web sdk user has left the meeting or if there is some technical issue with the user’s video/audio.

Which Endpoint/s or Web JS SDK?
Web sdk version 1.5.1

How To Reproduce (If applicable)
Join meeting with web sdk and some other (native) client.
Close the web sdk client window.
The user will incorrectly continue to appear in the meeting.

Hi @edward,

Thanks for informing us about this.
By closing the tab to leave the meeting, the participant will show for another 30 secs or so then will be removed. We are aware of this issue and are looking to make enhancements to automatically remove the user when closing the window in one of our future releases.

Thanks

1 Like

@Michael_Purnell thanks for the update! FYI- the participants is incorrectly shown for much longer than 30 seconds in my tests… sometimes as long as 5 minutes.

Thanks @edward, we will work on fixing this.

-Tommy