Connect my app user to a zoom user, and receive webhooks when that user finishes a recording

I am new to Zoom Dev and I am having a hard time finding the write way to ask this question such that the search results on Google or this forum point me in the right direction. My apologies if this is obvious, and if there is a link that explains it, please let me know.

1. Goal: I have many user accounts on my app, and they can connect their zoom account to my app’s account. I then want to be made aware of when a recording completes and download that recording if needed.
  2. I have: Set up Zoom OAuth App (type: user account) and validated my webhook using the “endpoint.url_validation” event and sha256 based response. They are working and the Zoom (dev/test) app was successfully added to my test user after the flow completed.
  3. I would like help understanding: how I can connect that user’s zoom account to my app’s account. I see I can pass a “state” param in the OAuth workflow to add my UID, but that seems very flimsy and corruptible. Furthermore, when I get a webhook’s response there isn’t any identifiers on it that say “this webooks is for this user so handle it accordingly.”

Am I even going about this the right way? i.e. maybe OAuth app isn’t what I need to do this, or maybe I have to build something into the Zoom client to accomplish this?

1 Like

@sshadmand Hope you will be fine.

For external Zoom Users’ data access, you need to first publish your OAuth App to Zoom Marketplace publically.

:point_up_2: And please share which webhook you are binding, where from you are trying to get a unique user id or identifying which users account belongs to this event.

By the way every webhook payload have account_id which is global unique id.

Thanks for the reply, Naeem.