When an alternative_host logs in using a zak, his name in Zoom is the meeting owner's name

Using the API, I create a meeting owned by a certain user. I also add some alternative_hosts to the meeting. When someone clicks the start_url that is returned from that call, he gets logged into Zoom using the correct name associated with the owner of the meeting. This all works well.

However, if I fetch a zak login token for a user who is in the list of alternative_hosts, and construct a start url using this zak, (so this guy can start the meeting instead of the owner) and open it in a browser, then when Zoom opens, this user doesn’t have his own name, but the name of the meeting owner. I think an alternative host should be able to log in and see his own name.

Is this really intended behavior? Is it a bug? Or is there a bug in my own code?

Thanks.

Hey @tim2

Thanks for posting on the Zoom Devforum! I am still learning, but I will try my best to help answer your question. :slightly_smiling_face:

Checkout this related thread that may have the answer you are looking for:

If this thread did not help, please let us know by replying back here and someone from the Developer Relations team will get back to you shortly.

Thanks,
DeveloperBot

Thanks, DeveloperBot, but that post doesn’t answer my question.

OK, here’s a related question. When creating the URL for the alternative hosts to use, what should it look like? The owner’s start URL looks like this:

https://subdomain.zoom.us/s/{meetingID}?zak={theZakToken}

However, if we register people, the registrants’ URLs look like this: (“w” instead of “s”)

https://subdomain.zoom.us/w/{meetingId}?tk={theirTkToken}

So what should the alternative hosts’ URL look like? Should it use an “s” like the owner? Or something else?

I sometimes get the message “If you are the meeting host, sign in to start the meeting” when clicking a link for an alternative host user. Can these tokens (and URLs) only be used once?

Hey @tim2,