Zoom API - Create meeting for alternative host

Hi everyone,

We have the Zoom Create a Meeting API built into an Internal Tool but it appears we are running into an issue.

We are populating the Alternative Host field in the configuration of the API with a list of users that have specific access to an Internal Site. It appears when a user is added with permissions to the site prior to being enabled for Zoom the API is failing to create a meeting. Same would happen for a user leaving the company and their account in Zoom is disabled prior to having their access removed from the Site in question.

I find it very surprising that the API would not just ignore the user that has not been licensed and proceed to create the meeting with the users on the list that have a Zoom License. Is this expected behaviour or a bug?

Regards

Hey @lauren.olphert

Thanks for posting on the Zoom Devforum! I am still learning, but I will try my best to help answer your question. :slightly_smiling_face:

Checkout this related thread that may have the answer you are looking for:

If this thread did not help, please let us know by replying back here and someone from the Developer Relations team will get back to you shortly.

Thanks,
DeveloperBot

Hello,

Sorry this did not answer my question!

Thanks,
Lauren

Hey @lauren.olphert,

Thank you for reaching out to the Zoom Developer Forum. When adding a user as an alternative host, one of the prerequisites is that they are a licensed user on the same account as the host. We cover this in our Alternative Host documentation. It sounds like the behavior you’re encountering is expected. In the future, you’ll want to make sure that the user has been assigned a license before adding them as an alternative host.

Let me know if that helps!

Thanks,
Max

Hello @MaxM ,