Deleting a meeting and Send meeting cancellation email to registrants

In the account when you go to delete a meeting that has at least one registrant it has a pre-checked tick box to ask if it should send a cancel email to all the registrants.

Any chance we can get that add on the DELETE method? (Maybe subject/body too?)

It has a schedule_for_reminder to tell the host, but nothing to tell the people attending.

I assume you have to do the legwork in sending a PUT request to /meetings/{meetingId}/registrants/status at the moment?

Hey @neil.freeman,

I’m pretty sure when deleting the meeting, any registrants will still get the meeting cancelled email. Have you tested that?

Thanks,
Tommy

Jumping in here. Registrants will not receive an email notification when a meeting is deleted via api. They only do if they are removed from the meeting via api.

1 Like

Hey @fred,

Thanks for confirming, we will see if we can add this to our roadmap.

@neil.freeman, You will have to send a custom email via a service like SendGrid.

-Tommy

Hi,

I found this thread and it seems to answer a question that I’ve been looking for the answer to… I am not a coder, but I accidentally deleted a Google Calendar event for a Zoom meeting that I am the host of, which triggered a cancellation email that I received. I have almost 80 people registered for this meeting and I am hoping they did not also receive cancellation emails… It sounds like Google Calendar is considered an “api” (correct me if I am wrong?), so my registrants would not have received cancellation emails, correct? I hope this is the case.

Any help is appreciated. I am wondering whether or not I need to send out a follow-up email telling them that the meeting is not actually cancelled.

Thanks,
Jessicca

Hey @bacherj,

Did you delete it through google calendar? Usually you are presented with an email notification option:

Thanks,
Tommy

Hi Tommy,

Yes, I accidentally deleted it through Google Calendar, but I was not presented with that pop-up you just sent a screenshot of. Is there a setting I need to turn on to activate that feature?

Thanks,
Jessicca

Hey @bacherj,

That would be a question for the Google Calendar team.

Thanks,
Tommy